Interview Questionaire:

Copy and paste questions below:

Tell the world how and why you got started in your business.

~We promote Creativity~

           Questionaire: 

1. As a child was crafting something you did often?

2. What types of crafts did you like most?

3. What was it like when you were growing up?     Did your parents play a major role in your creative abilities?

4. When you are creating what is your main focus? Do you need a quiet space or do your need an active enviroment to get your creative juices flowing?

5. Tell us about yourself and why you want the world to know about your crafting treasures.

6. Do you want to give special thanks to those who embrased your creative side, do it here.

{We love real life inspiration}

We could ask the same questions most ezines ask but we want to know the person behind the business. Crafting is not just money making way of life. Crafting is a gift from the heart. Creativity is the way to embrace the grand vision of~Self~

~Preserving the past..Promoting the future~

7. How can you preserve the past with your creative abilities?

8. In the next 10 years to be, how do you vision your creative lifestyle to be?

9. Last but not least, what is one treasure of advise you can pass on to the younger generation for creating a life full of passion?

Partnership Market Ezine would like to thank  “You”  for allowing us to help others come to a place of inspiration by getting to know the crafter behind the business.  We look forward to featuring a full page article dedicated to your creative business!

15 Responses

  1. Questionaire:

    As a child was crafting something you did often? All the time, I remember my grandma teaching me to make things with farmer matches, keypunched cards, craft foams, crushed glass and macaroni.

    What types of crafts did you like most? I love painting, oil paint by number kits were a favorite gift of mine.

    What was it like when you were growing up? Did your parents play a major role in your creative abilities? Mom worked a lot when I was young, and was a single parent for awhile, so I would have say to that school, friends, neighbors and other relatives really were the ones that helped me get involved in crafts and build on my creativity.

    When you are creating what is your main focus? Do you need a quiet space or do your need an active enviroment to get your creative juices flowing? My main focus is to tell myself I am going to make (for instance) a tree stump vase today, and that is all. I don’t want to push myself into hurrying or mass producing anything, as I am never happy with the outcome. If I finish the tree stump (or whatever I have begun) and I really like it, I get pumped and want to keep going. So another lump of clay on the wedging table and I am into a whole new piece. I like to work alone, but with background noise like a radio or tv. I do share my studio with my cats who like to come up and watch or snooze and my husband too when he is working on a taxidermy mount. (which is his artistic ability)

    Tell us about yourself and why you want the world to know about your crafting treasures. I am a middle age woman that just recently in the past few years turned towards pottery making. Self taught and uninhibited by the rules of class, I am drawn towards the unusual and imperfect assymetrical looking pieces that are handmade. I am not afraid to make a bowl that is not perfectly round, as a matter of fact I prefer it. Since functional dinnerware pieces are standardized shapes and design, I tend to stay away from making many functional pieces and instead focus on something that just flows out of my hands and relates to my love of nature, where you will find all that is perfect and all that is not.

    Do you want to give special thanks to those who embrased your creative side, do it here. {We love real life inspiration} I have to say my husband, my mother and my sisters have been very influential in me pursuing making pottery to offer to the general public, and helped me to decide to take that first step into selling…. I am not a salesperson, and that is the part I hate the most is promoting myself. I am generally modest and humble, and just HOPE that people like my things enough to buy them. They have and it just encourages me to continue with each sale I make. I also must say I have been very inspired by the story of the famous potter Rose Cabat, and how she as a self taught artist came into her own starting her career in her forties, and still going strong today at over 90 years old.

    We could ask the same questions most ezines ask but we want to know the person behind the business. Crafting is not just money making way of life. Crafting is a gift from the heart. Creativity is the way to embrace the grand vision of~Self~

    How can you preserve the past with your creative abilities? I am not quite sure what you mean, but if you are referring to preserving my past…..I am documenting most of the pieces I am currently making and of course my work is signed, so in the future someone can attribute the work to me. I have sold pieces all over the US and Canada too, so it is out there somewhere for people to enjoy.

    In the next 10 years to be, how do you vision your creative lifestyle to be? I plan to be retired from working for anyone but myself, and my days will be spent making pottery and participating in lots more shows.

    Last but not least, what is one treasure of advise you can pass on to the younger generation for creating a life full of passion? Find a balance in your life between work and play. If play time is your only time to create what you are passionate about, make sure you get plenty of it. If your good at it, promote it and the switch from playtime creating, may turn to full time creating. But more important than anything be sure it gives you pleasure to create, when it turns into a job, you will have lost that special love you put into each piece.

    ” The beauty in nature is complimented by the artists so inspired by it”.
    Kathi Mohlman

  2. Questionaire:

    As a child was crafting something you did often?
    I was ALWAYS doing little art projects! If I didn’t have my nose buried in a book, I was painting, drawing, or crafting.

    What types of crafts did you like most?
    Preferably ones involving glitter. I did so many things, this is a tough question. I grew up by the beach, so sea shells were involved in many a project. My fascination with fiber also started at a really young age. From friendship bracelets, to embroidery to knitting, I think I’ve tried everything at least once.

    What was it like when you were growing up? Did your parents play a major role in your creative abilities?
    My mother was a pre-school teacher for 25 years, so she is a master at coming up with fun art projects! My family is made up of very tightly knit women. Each generation is two sisters, who each had two daughters, who each had two daughters and so on. And we all knit, needlepoint and sew together, so of course they have all been a huge influence on me!

    When you are creating what is your main focus? Do you need a quiet space or do your need an active enviroment to get your creative juices flowing?
    I am getting my PhD in molecular Neuroscience, which takes up most of my waking hours. Science is actually an extremely creative process, and sometimes I even get to make actual “Art”. I take beautiful photographs of neurons! Most of my knitting is done late at night with the TV on, but my favorite times are actually when I get up early on a weekend morning and the whole world still feels quiet.

    Tell us about yourself and why you want the world to know about your crafting treasures.
    Mostly because I want to be able to afford to keep doing them! My crafting expenses add up quickly, and as a poor graduate student I don’t think I would be able to afford it if I couldn’t sell my work. I need to knit and craft to keep me sane. The thought of going home and picking up my needles and loosing myself in clouds of fuzzy purple mohair gets me through stressful days.

    Do you want to give special thanks to those who embrased your creative side, do it here. {We love real life inspiration}
    Everyone who ever stopped to compliment my work (even when I was 3 and my work was done in crayon) has kept me going. I love to knit during my hour long commute, and the strangers who stop to talk to me about my work are really the people who made me believe I could go out and sell it. I’ll never actually get to thank them – but when you see a girl knitting on the train, stop and chat to her about it!

    We could ask the same questions most ezines ask but we want to know the person behind the business. Crafting is not just money making way of life. Crafting is a gift from the heart. Creativity is the way to embrace the grand vision of~Self~

    Preserving the past..Promoting the future..

    How can you preserve the past with your creative abilities?
    I think that the feminist movements of the 20th century were critically important for advancing women’s rights. At the same time, I think that they also moved women away from many of the things that made them strong, unique, and independent for thousands of years. Being able to provide beautiful and functional things for your family with your own hands. Being able to create. To give birth to art as well as life. Creativity and passion and drive. It’s important that these things not be lost. As I mentioned above, I come from a very matriarchal family, and these crafts link me back to all the generations that have come before.

    In the next 10 years to be, how do you vision your creative lifestyle to be?
    As I mentioned above, science is an incredibly creative field, although we might not produce “Art” in the typical sense. The process, however, requires thinking outside of the box and pulling ideas together that no one else might think to connect. It is a lot like the process of creating art. Of course I will still be knitting and crafting, and hopefully starting to raise a new generation of creative beings.

    Last but not least, what is one treasure of advise you can pass on to the younger generation for creating a life full of passion?
    Try new things! For me, growing up, I just found it difficult to learn about the gazillions of things out there that you can do, for fun or for money. I think that the internet is changing that in a lot of ways. Try doing something new on a regular basis until eventually you find something you love. Something you would rather do than eat or sleep! And then figure out how to make it a part of your life, whether you do it for a career or just to relax you at the end of the day.

    Just wanted to say thanks for this opportunity! These were great questions and I had fun answering them!

  3. Questionaire:

    1. I have always liked working with my hands. I loved to build things and color as a child. I attended summer camp for 8 years growing up and learned pottery, loom weaving, basket weaving and more. As a teenager, art and writing were wonderful ways for me to express myself and all the things I questioned or didn’t understand. I was even allowed to paint on the walls of my bedroom. I still have journals of poetry that I revisit every now and then, which is a nice way for me to see how much I have grown.

    2. I silk screen which allows me the freedom to draw and paint so to speak. I also love wood and metal. If I could find some free time, I would love to take a jewelry class. I took a sculpture class my last semester in landscape architecture. We cast an iron sphere weighing about 1500 lbs. We found scrap metal at the junkyards and built a cupola for our pours. I fell in love with metal after that semester. If I could find some free time, I would love to take a jewelry class.

    3. My parents aren’t very artistic, but I was always encouraged to pursue art. My mom gave me new craft projects and art supplies for every birthday and Christmas. My grandmother was a wonderful seamstress. She taught me the basics when I was young. I have all of her sewing supplies, and am hoping to take a sewing class soon so that I can put everything to good use.

    4. Music and nature are my biggest inspirations. I carry a journal with me everywhere because I never know when my next big idea will be. I have woken up in the middle of the night to write and draw. It is hard for me to force myself to create; the ideas will just come when they are ready.

    5. I am an avid sport fan and played on five different teams through high school. I also have a two year old son who loves sports too. I am from Baton Rouge and even though it gets very hot, we have terrible schools and crooked politicians, I would never live anywhere else. South Louisiana is so unique in its landscape, people, food and music. There is a great amount of undiscovered talent here and I am proud to be a part of the art community.

    6. I would like to thank my mom for supporting me financially and emotionally throughout this venture. I would also like to apologize to my son for the times I have been too busy working to go outside and play and for taking up all the space in his room with my art supplies!

    7. How can you preserve the past with your creative abilities? This is a deep question and I’m not sure how to answer; however, one of my best selling items is my gigantic scissors. These were my grandmother’s sewing scissors and I honored them with a silkscreen. Clothing isn’t going to be around forever, but what is great about working in this line is that fashion changes so often I will never get bored or stuck doing one thing.

    8. I hope in the future I will have more space to work. As my business grows, I also hope to afford better supplies and tools of my trade.

    9. Always make some time for yourself and find an outlet whether it be a physical activity or quiet time. If you are not happy, people around you will probably not be happy. We all have to make a living, but if at all possible, try to find something that you enjoy doing. If you like your work, the product will reflect it.

    Thank your for helping others discover their creative path. We look forward to featuring a full page article dedicated to your creative business!

  4. Questionaire:

    1. As a child was crafting something you did often? Absolutely – I got it from my mother. She always built time into the day for crafting.

    2. What types of crafts did you like most? The first “projects” I remember working on were crosstich designs. I remember getting really frustrated because the thread was always getting tangled. I didn’t have much patience as a kid, and I’ve only marginally improved in that area since then 🙂
    In college I sewed clothes for all my friend that I created from thrift store bedsheets. We were all wearing dresses and shirts made out of old pillowcases — in retrospect, its pretty funny.

    3. What was it like when you were growing up? Did your parents play a major role in your creative abilities? My dad is an amazing artist — he had all the talent in the family. My mother has less of the innate talent, but much more motivation and passion.

    4. When you are creating what is your main focus? Do you need a quiet space or do your need an active enviroment to get your creative juices flowing? My main focus is just creating things that I like. Because I am a jewelry designer, I try to make things that I would wear. Then I try to put a little spin on it so that I’m reaching a wider market than just people with my exact taste. I don’t need any sort of mood to create — I get ideas from everything around me. I like that I can sit around in my PJs and create while listening to NPR — it’s very meditative.

    5. Tell us about yourself and why you want the world to know about your crafting treasures. My craft business is only in the last six months starting to bring in a signifigant amount of sales, but it was years in the making. There were many false starts, and many times where i put the cart before the horse. I’d order business cards, come up with a logo, start building a website — but I’d have no product!! I think things just work out when they are meant to work out.

    6. Do you want to give special thanks to those who embrased your creative side, do it here. My boyfriend was extremely supportive of my jewelry – he thought everything I made was wonderful and really encouraged me to continue. He passed away unexpectedly a year ago at the age of 29, and I created a scholarship fund in his honor. To generate money for the fund, i created a piece of jewelry specifically in his memory. Sales for the piece were huge and generated more than $2,000 for the fund. The fund is giving away it’s first scholarship this spring.

    ~Preserving the past..Promoting the future~

    7. How can you preserve the past with your creative abilities? So many crafts are about learning skills that have been passed on for generations. It is up to the next generation to preserve these skills, and add their own twist on them.

    8. In the next 10 years to be, how do you vision your creative lifestyle to be? I hope to be relaxing on a beach somewhere with a duffel bag full of my jewelry tools by my side. Making jewelry on the beach… can life get any better than that??

    9. Last but not least, what is one treasure of advise you can pass on to the younger generation for creating a life full of passion?

    Thank your for helping others discover their creative path. We look forward to featuring a full page article dedicated to your creative business!

  5. Oops, missed the last question….

    9. Last but not least, what is one treasure of advise you can pass on to the younger generation for creating a life full of passion?

    The younger generation is a generation full of innovators. And innovation is the key to finding a niche for yourself in a world where everyone is trying to get ahead. So just continue exploring your creativity and most importantly, doing what makes you happy.

  6. 1. As a child was crafting something you did often?
    All the time. I had my closet full of construction paper, glue, watercolors and crayons. My hands were always busy. I was very creative.

    2. What types of crafts did you like most?
    Many of my creations were on the messy side – Mud sculptures, finger painting and I made collages from magazine pictures and ads. One year we made chains from gum wrappers. I designed Barbie clothes out of crepe paper.

    3. What was it like when you were growing up? Did your parents play a major role in your creative abilities?
    My creativity really blossomed in the early ’60’s. We had what we needed. We were encouraged to play outside and entertain ourselves instead of playing video games or watching cable tv. My maternal grandmother introduced me to the world of crafts. She was an artist in her own right. She had carved a Nativity scene and a wedding party out of Ivory soap and would enter them in the State Fair. She painted, she did plaster crafting and I was encouraged to help her. I learned to sew from my mother and grandmother.

    4. When you are creating what is your main focus? Do you need a quiet space or do your need an active enviroment to get your creative juices flowing?
    Stained glass and mosaics are my biggest passion. I keep a notebook and always write down ideas for a stained glass project. Sometimes the swirls of color in a piece of glass will remind me of something and that’s what it will become. I have my glass studio in our basement laundry room. It is well lighted and all my equipment, tools and supplies are right there and I don’t mind the solitude. Pink Floyd is my concentration music. I love soldering. I always expect my work to be precise and neat or I won’t sell it. When I am “in my groove” I can work all night. I don’t pay attention to the time. Always respect a creative streak and use it wisely!

    My jewelry is usually influenced by the gemstone or glass beads I find. I started making jewelry because I hated the junk being sold in the department stores for ridiculous prices. I have sold a lot of jewelry that I was wearing, which I don’t mind at all.

    5. Tell us about yourself and why you want the world to know about your crafting treasures.
    I’m a little uncomfortable about the “wanting the world to know” statement, because I really don’t like to call attention to myself. I guess I want people to know that whatever I have made was done to the best of my ability. I’m not getting rich off stained glass work. What I sell my work for is a bargain, because the cost of materials has tripled in the last year or so. I stick with it because I love it.

    I am who I am and tend to keep to myself most of the time. My husband and I have been married since 1973 and we have 3 sons who are 24, 26 and 28. I was a stay at home Mom and learned a lot of do-it-yourself skills. I can hang wallpaper, paint, lay hardwood flooring, refinish hardwood flooring, lay vinyl and ceramic tile. We learned a long time ago that we can afford better materials if we do the installations ourselves and we can do a professional job.

    6. Do you want to give special thanks to those who embrased your creative side, do it here.
    Unfortunately, both my Mom and grandmother are gone, but I am very grateful for the encouragement and support I got from them. My mother was my biggest fan. I gave her the quilt square panel that was my very first copper foil project. She had suncatchers for every occasion. My grandmother was gone many years before I took my first stained glass class, but I know she is proud of me for trying something new.

    7. How can you preserve the past with your creative abilities?
    Recycling old materials is very big right now. I have seen some great jewelry made from old costume jewelry. Even old buttons are being used. I saw a journal covered with old buttons recently. We have two boxes of old buttons and costume jewelry that my husband wants me to throw out, but I want to use some myself and sell the rest. I think it’s cool to see old stained glass windows reputtied and framed and reused.

    8. In the next 10 years to be, how do you vision your creative lifestyle to be?
    I never want to get to the point where crafting is not fun anymore, for whatever reason.

    9. Last but not least, what is one treasure of advise you can pass on to the younger generation for creating a life full of passion?
    Trust your instincts and do what you love.

  7. 1. As a child was crafting something you did often? Yes

    2. What types of crafts did you like most? I love to Crochet & Knit. You can do it anywhere without worrying about electricity

    3. What was it like when you were growing up? Really out going Did your parents play a major role in your creative abilities? Not so much

    4. When you are creating what is your main focus? Experimentation, I try not to plan what I’m doing Do you need a quiet space or do your need an active enviroment to get your creative juices flowing? Not really, I’m usually watch TV or my kids play while I’m crafting

    5. Tell us about yourself and why you want the world to know about your crafting treasures. I’m a stay at home mom and I like staying busy. Both of my kids are in school, I miss them, so I craft to pass the time. My crafting changes with my life. When I was pregnant with my children, I made baby stuff. When my wedding was appraoching, I made favors. If I gain a little bit of weight, I make ponchos.

    6. Do you want to give special thanks to those who embrased your creative side, do it here. Definately have to say thanks to my husband. There is not a day that goes by that he doesn’t trip over my yarn, or get a pin in in foot. He always looks at me, and all I have to do is smile, and he understands.

    {We love real life inspiration}

    We could ask the same questions most ezines ask but we want to know the person behind the business. Crafting is not just money making way of life. Crafting is a gift from the heart. Creativity is the way to embrace the grand vision of~Self~

    ~Preserving the past..Promoting the future~

    7. How can you preserve the past with your creative abilities? Just keep doing it. Make sure you teach at least one person your craft. They will teach someone else and so on.

    8. In the next 10 years to be, how do you vision your creative lifestyle to be? More

    9. Last but not least, what is one treasure of advise you can pass on to the younger generation for creating a life full of passion? Pick it up. It does not matter what it is. Crochet, knit, painting, Playing an instrument. If you do it, that is one more person keeping it going.

    Partnership Market Ezine would like to thank ”You” for allowing us to help others come to a place of inspiration by getting to know the crafter behind the business. We look forward to featuring a full page article dedicated to your creative business!

  8. Submitted By: The Rocking Pony on Etsy

    1. As a child was crafting something you did often?

    Yes, I seemed to always be creating one mess or another. On occasion I would even create something useful.

    2. What types of crafts did you like most?

    I took to sewing early on. I’d also tried drawing, macrame, crochet, calligraphy and woodworking.

    3. What was it like when you were growing up? Did your parents play a major role in your creative abilities?

    My parents were so permissive. They didn’t ever say “please don’t make a mess.” It was nice to know that anything I did was OK.

    4. When you are creating what is your main focus? Do you need a quiet space or do your need an active enviroment to get your creative juices flowing?

    My ideas come when I’m out and about, around people and things. I come home just filled with ideas and am so anxious to get to my quiet studio and make the ideas become reality.

    5. Tell us about yourself and why you want the world to know about your crafting treasures.

    I am not the usual sickly-cute baby shop. You’ll never find Elmo or the Power Rangers here! I love different textures, patterns and colors and my shop reflects that. There are such a wide range of styles to choose from that every baby will be spitting up on it’s own unique burper.

    6. Do you want to give special thanks to those who embraced your creative side, do it here.
    My husband is awesome. What can I say? He’s been there through crochet (though he drew the line at that bedspread, thank goodness!) and now he’s overwhelmed by fabric. He even tries to share my excitement at new creations. Bless him for it! My preteen daughter is a huge help in choosing colors, coordinating patterns and letting me know what’s in style and what I should leave alone.

    {We love real life inspiration}

    We could ask the same questions most ezines ask but we want to know the person behind the business. Crafting is not just money making way of life. Crafting is a gift from the heart. Creativity is the way to embrace the grand vision of~Self~

    ~Preserving the past..Promoting the future~

    7. How can you preserve the past with your creative abilities?
    Sewing has gone out of style, sadly. There are wonderful seamstresses still out there of course, but across the board not everyone can install a zipper or hem pants anymore. I’m offering quality handmade items that remind new moms of something grandma may have passed down. The thought makes me feel good.

    8. In the next 10 years to be, how do you vision your creative lifestyle to be?
    I’d still love to be sewing hip handmades for tiny tots. I love creating for children, it’s just so much fun! I could see my styles changing with the times, or adding new lines. Although, based on my past who knows what else I’ll start crafting next!

    9. Last but not least, what is one treasure of advise you can pass on to the younger generation for creating a life full of passion?
    Don’t be afraid to do your own thing! Don’t fall into the trap that “it’s never been done that way.” YOUR way makes it unique to you. And when you do your own thing, and enjoy it, your work will shine.
    27 February 2007 4:08pm EDT

  9. Submitted By: Magical Realism of Etsy

    1. As a child was crafting something you did often?

    Not really. My mother was an art teacher, so I would dabble, but her need for perfection and her belief that since she learned by observing I learned by observing caused me to drop a lot of projects before they ever came to fruition. I did create a lot of Doctor Who fan art, although this was well before an Internet community existed to appreciate the ravings of an eight year old, and into my teen years I discovered that my writing skills were above par compared to my peers. There was also an attempt with a glue gun and a dollhouse kit in my teens, but that resulted in intervention and eventual confiscation. Eventually I learned that to be expressive freely, I had to choose an area that my mother had no understanding of or that she considered herself to have little skill in, so initially, I became a writer.

    2. What types of crafts did you like most?

    In childhood, I tried a lot of stuff with cutting paper, but it was also in my childhood that I kept gardens and would bond with my grandfather over his huge, subsistence-style garden. He also had this big Reader’s Digest book on herbs that he would leave out whenever I came to visit; my fascination with plants, especially fragrant plants, began then.

    3. What was it like when you were growing up? Did your parents play a major role in your creative abilities?

    My parents are both cultural creatives. My father is an actor and a semi-retired English teacher, my mother is a former art teacher and a lower-tax bracket embodiment of Emily Gilmore. I learned a lot from watching them both about how every day of our lives is a theater, and while it left me with a verbal mastery that was stunning for a teenager. Their interpersonal dances made me smart about people, and it made me learn to understand a person just by observing that I later enhanced by taking courses in kinesics and nonverbal communication. I’ve chosen to channel this information into creating perfumes and herbal beauty treatments for others, but I could just as easily be a gifted personal shopper or stylist because of my parents’ example.

    4. When you are creating what is your main focus? Do you need a quiet space or do your need an active enviroment to get your creative juices flowing?

    My main focus is on the emotion I want to trigger through my fragrant composition. I prefer quiet – counting drops can be a boring, mechanical business – and I also spend a lot of time communing with the plants and building my fragrance knowledge. The artistry is there, between the mechanics of what I do; even the concepts behind my perfumes come to me as I go about my daily life.

    5. Tell us about yourself and why you want the world to know about your crafting treasures.

    Perfume is a highly personal and spiritual expression, and mainstream perfumery has depersonalized it until perfume wearers can look for themselves on charts. I think in most over-the-counter fragrances I can count about 18 different smells, and despite the literally thousands of options available to commercial chemical corporations, it seems like they continually settle on the same fragrances. Yet when I sit down to my own perfume organ (OK, Lazy Suzan), I have less than 100 fragrances at my disposal (at the moment), I can create perfumes that are strikingly different from one another.

    6. Do you want to give special thanks to those who embraced your creative side, do it here.

    My family and friends have all been stunningly supportive. My sister has been an eager and happy customer, my mother even wears my Autumn perfume to church, and my father is waiting patiently for some shaving gel I promised him. I owe a special thanks to my friend GR, who, when I mentioned I might sell off my essential oils, told me quite forcefully not to. I’m so glad I listened to her; without her input, Magickal Realism never would have happened.

    We could ask the same questions most ezines ask but we want to know the person behind the business. Crafting is not just money making way of life. Crafting is a gift from the heart. Creativity is the way to embrace the grand vision of~Self~

    ~Preserving the past..Promoting the future~

    7. How can you preserve the past with your creative abilities?

    I’m keeping records, and I’m researching historical fragrances. As a natural perfumer, I only use techniques in perfumery that predate 1870; without history, I’d have nothing to work with.

    8. In the next 10 years to be, how do you vision your creative lifestyle to be?

    I’m already at the point where my creativity IS my lifestyle. Perfuming is what I do, full time. I would like someone to take the business reigns, but I have a hard time trusting someone else with the nitty gritty details of my daily business; even the tedious stuff has become an act of love. I hope to see some synergy with fashion designers and jewelery, something I’ve already started by teaming up with Fabulous Burlap and Dancing Jems to do trunk shows. I’d also like to see myself spending more time writing, especially on perfume and on my ideas for subverting the fashion industry into a livable model. This is a tough question, because I’m sometimes overly grounded; perhaps over the next five years I can work on my visionary skill.

    9. Last but not least, what is one treasure of advice you can pass on to the younger generation for creating a life full of passion?

    My advice has three parts: 1)learn to type – this will get you through the door when you need all those little temp jobs to cover the rent while you create at night 2)become as computer literate as you can, right down to your graphics programs; the better you know the Machine of the Man, the better your chances at starting a business at home that will win your freedom, and 3) pay LOTS of attention during all those boring library orientations: the better your research skills, the more of everything you will have at your disposal, and the less it will cost you.
    27 February 2007 8:21pm EDT

  10. Submitted by: Christine Street Designs

    As a child was crafting something you did often?
    I wish I would have spent more time crafting. I really loved it, but
    my parents encouraged book smarts before creativity. I did, however,
    receive a “twirl-o-paint” for my birthday one year from an aunt. I
    loved it!!!

    What types of crafts did you like most? As a child I loved decorating
    everything with puffy paint. Also, my grandma was very crafty. She
    taught me how to make roses out of dough. I loved spending time at
    her place because she was always working on a new project for the
    church bulletin board. I also loved making crowns out of long grass
    that I braided.

    What was it like when you were growing up? Did your parents play a
    major role in your creative abilities? My parents did not play a
    major role in my creative abilities. I was more encouraged to study
    academic courses and my fun activities were always sports. I’m sure
    all that I learned doing other things has helped me, though. I am
    just naturally creative and my experiences have made me who I am. I
    don’t regret that they did not encourage me to be creative, but I will
    certainly be more supportive in my child’s life regarding creativity.
    With a child, though, creativity is almost always already there.

    When you are creating what is your main focus? Do you need a quiet
    space or do your need an active enviroment to get your creative juices
    flowing? both. It depends on my mood, what I’m doing, the time of
    the day……

    Tell us about yourself and why you want the world to know about your
    crafting treasures.
    I am so happy making things. I only discovered this in my twenties,
    and I’ve never turned my back on my creativity since. Being creative
    and seeing something completed is the best way that I can honor
    myself. I primarily make jewelry, but I also enjoy woodworking,
    drawing, painting, and refinishing furniture. My company’s name is
    Chocolate and Steel. Chocolate and Steel symbolize to me the
    combining of unexpected materials…..hard and soft, sweet and strong,
    organic and industrial.

    Do you want to give special thanks to those who embrased your creative
    side, do it here. {We love real life inspiration}
    My husband has changed my life. He has encouraged me to honor my
    creative side ever since I met him. He has taught me to believe that
    my life is whatever I want it to be (for real!). If I want to make a
    living doing what I love, making things, then I can. If I think that
    I have to have a career that depresses me, then that is what I will
    have. I’ve never met anyone who believes as strongly as he does that
    it is imperative to be true to yourself and to express yourself
    through your art. My life changed dramatically when I realized this.
    I am happy and fulfilled and enjoy everyday. I never knew what I was
    missing out on. I feel like I know myself better than I ever have
    before.

    We could ask the same questions most ezines ask but we want to know
    the person behind the business. Crafting is not just money making way
    of life. Crafting is a gift from the heart. Creativity is the way to
    embrace the grand vision of~Self~

    Preserving the past..Promoting the future..

    How can you preserve the past with your creative abilities?
    By looking at the things I create one is able to see my world through
    my eyes. It is a different world than the one they live in.

    In the next 10 years to be, how do you vision your creative lifestyle to be?
    In the next 10 years I will continue to make things and be creative
    everyday. I will pass on the importance of honoring yourself to my
    children. (p.s. having my son was the BEST creation ever placed in my
    life. He’s amazing!)

    Last but not least, what is one treasure of advise you can pass on to
    the younger generation for creating a life full of passion?
    Do what you love, and love what you do. Obligations are
    “self-emposed” restrictions. “Self emposed” means you have the power
    to rid yourself of obligations and start doing what you want to do.
    Honor yourself, honor your spirit.

    Christine Street-Gregg


    Christine Street Designs
    http://www.chocolateandsteel.etsy.com

  11. Submitted by: Sara Swart

    Purple Papaya Designs

    As a child was crafting something you did often?
    Absolutely! I sewed my own beanbags, which was incredibly fun. The I pelted them across the room until they broke. Also fun. I’ve been making jewelry for many years as well.

    What types of crafts did you like most?
    I loved painting, but beading or stitching always came more naturally. I won some photography competitions too, but that was mostly by accident.

    What was it like when you were growing up? Did your parents play a major role in your creative abilities?
    My parents encouraged me to step up and take care of needs when they arose, rather than waiting for someone else to provide a solution. That attitude has been very helpful in my crafts, because the idea of making things myself instead of buying them is an independent one. I was also fortunate to receive plenty of wisdom that I have tried to make good use of in my business.

    When you are creating what is your main focus? Do you need a quiet space or do your need an active environment to get your creative juices flowing?
    I can create in any environment, but generally I sit by myself in a quiet room. That’s just how rooms are around here!

    Tell us about yourself and why you want the world to know about your crafting treasures.
    I’m a student of finance and German, so at the end of each day, I need something non-work, something calming to do. That is the role jewelry-making plays in my life. I’m very stress-free about my jewelry: I make what I want, when I want, and don’t worry about making sure I’m artistic or trendy or whatever else I might want to be. (Except I am fanatical about customer service.) I create from the heart, and fortunately my work has resonated with many people. I hope to share the joy my pieces bring to me with others.

    Do you want to give special thanks to those who embraced your creative side, do it here. {We love real life inspiration}
    My boyfriend always encourages me. I can make nothing that is ugly in his eyes! My family has been a wonderful support (my first customer base). I’m also grateful to the professors who taught me accounting and finance-related topics.

    We could ask the same questions most ezines ask but we want to know the person behind the business. Crafting is not just money making way of life. Crafting is a gift from the heart. Creativity is the way to embrace the grand vision of~Self~

    Preserving the past..Promoting the future..

    How can you preserve the past with your creative abilities?
    I think doing things for yourself was a much greater part of our ancestors’ lives than it is ours. Even my parents grew their own vegetables and made their own soap, not for a business, but just because that was the way that made sense to them. The difference was even more dramatic if you go back more generations. It’s rare for people my age to use their hands. We hire gardeners, repairmen, and buy just about everything in a store. By putting love and care into each thing I make, I can add vitality and individuality into a culture that is becoming more and more uniform.

    In the next 10 years to be, how do you vision your creative lifestyle to be?
    I hope to always make jewelry, but it is possible that I will be off doing something in the finance world. In this view, everything I make is highly limited edition! But sincerely, once you start creating, it is very hard to stop.

    Last but not least, what is one treasure of advise you can pass on to the younger generation for creating a life full of passion?
    Take joy in your work! Hearing the stories my customers tell about their experiences with my jewelry (given, for example, as an engagement gift or on a first date) are my favorite part of all this.

    Kind regards,

    Sara

  12. Hi,
    I’d love a chance to be listed in your directory and
    featured in your blog. Here’s my interview:

    Questionaire:

    As a child was crafting something you did often? Yes,
    I was always drawing, cutting, glueing, etc.

    What types of crafts did you like most?I enjoyed
    constructing things. I’ve built the Eiffel Tower out
    of Balsa wood and a cactus out of paper mache.

    What was it like when you were growing up? Did your
    parents play a major role in your creative
    abilities?My parents were always very supportive. I
    can remember my father helping me make a Conestoga
    Wagon,complete with a 20 mule team, for a Social
    Studies project.

    When you are creating what is your main focus? Do you
    need a quiet space or do your need an active
    enviroment to get your creative juices flowing?I
    usually like to listen to music as I work.

    Tell us about yourself and why you want the world to
    know about your crafting treasures.I create for the
    sheer joy of it. I enjoy receiving feedback and love
    to hear how happy my creations make the people who
    receive them.

    Do you want to give special thanks to those who
    embrased your creative side, do it here. {We love real
    life inspiration}I owe a special thanks to my Mom, who
    always taught me to take a chance!

    We could ask the same questions most ezines ask but we
    want to know the person behind the business. Crafting
    is not just money making way of life. Crafting is a
    gift from the heart. Creativity is the way to embrace
    the grand vision of~Self~

    Preserving the past..Promoting the future..

    How can you preserve the past with your creative
    abilities? I specialize in making french beaded
    flowers which is an art dating back to about the
    1500s.

    In the next 10 years to be, how do you vision your
    creative lifestyle to be? I plan to go right on
    designing & creating new things!

    Last but not least, what is one treasure of advise you
    can pass on to the younger generation for creating a
    life full of passion? Don’t be afraid to follow your
    dreams and Take a chance!

    Thanks,
    Debbie

    Check out my store at http://craftymoose.etsy.com
    Check out my website at http://craftymoosecrafts.com
    See my gallery at
    http://craftersbuzz.com/gallery.cgi?CRAFTYMOOSE&cbrewards=CRAFTYMOOSE

  13. Submitted by: Rhonday

    As a child was crafting something you did often? All the time! I loved to draw, color, and paint. In fourth grade my art class went to a park in Savannah (GA) to draw a lion statue. My mom, Aunt, and grandmother were all very crafty and artistic. My grandmother was an acrylic artist. My aunt is very good with a variety of crafts, and my mom can do anything with her sewing machine, crochet needle, or knitting needles. I also took a class where I sculpted a seal out of clay.

    What types of crafts did you like most? Drawing and coloring were my favorites.

    What was it like when you were growing up? Did your parents play a major role in your creative abilities? I had a lot of support. My grandmother and mom took me to a class here and there. They let me paint my bedroom my favorite color for a home-ech (sp?) class. I was always supplied with crayons and paper.

    When you are creating what is your main focus? Do you need a quiet space or do your need an active enviroment to get your creative juices flowing? When I am fusing my dichroic glass pendants I go to my work station in the garage and turn on the radio. Sometimes my creative juices overflow and I want to do everything at once. I am also a watercolor artist and I like to have quiet when I paint.

    Tell us about yourself and why you want the world to know about your crafting treasures. I am 44 and love what I do – I just love color. Each room in my house is painted a different color from apple green to Carribean colors. My living room is yellow with burgundy and white and a lot of colorful paintings on the walls.

    I love working with dichroic glass because of the bright colors. I was introduced to a kiln in August and we have been inseparable ever since. 🙂 I pride in the quality of my work and it makes me feel so good when I get compliments on something I have made. I tend to sell pendants right off my neck.

    Do you want to give special thanks to those who embrased your creative side, do it here. {We love real life inspiration} I thank my friends and family for the enthusiastic support they give me. I especially thank my husband for his support and patience as I venture out on my own doing what I love to do – creating with color!

    We could ask the same questions most ezines ask but we want to know the person behind the business. Crafting is not just money making way of life. Crafting is a gift from the heart. Creativity is the way to embrace the grand vision of~Self~

    Preserving the past..Promoting the future..

    How can you preserve the past with your creative abilities? In my watercolors, I have painted pets and a portrait, and these will help preserve the memories of these loved ones for years to come.

    In the next 10 years to be, how do you vision your creative lifestyle to be? I just go where my creative juices take me. I look forward to new ideas as new tools and materials are developed. Look me up in 10 years. 🙂

    Last but not least, what is one treasure of advise you can pass on to the younger generation for creating a life full of passion? Embrace your creative talents and share them with those around you. You will be an inspiration to someone out there, and you may never know it until one day your paths cross and you find out just how much you touched someone’s heart.

  14. Submitted by: Alexis

    Questionaire:

    As a child was crafting something you did often? All the time. When I was
    little I was the youngest of my entire family. Not that it was a huge
    family with only me, my brother, and 3 cousins. But I was the littlest, the
    newest, the least popular kids. So when I saw the chance to become
    someone’s favorite I jumped at it. My great grandmother spent all her time
    making quilts. So to impress her, I started to mimic her stitches on scraps
    of my own fabric. Before long, I had a guilt to show her and a smile
    knowing I had won her crafty-heart! It all started there and I never
    stopped.

    What types of crafts did you like most? Since I was poor, and couldn’t
    afford “cool” clothes, I really liked creating my own. From t-shirt
    reconstruction, to cute skirts out of the sheets on my bed, I always felt
    better in something I made than something we had scrimped for. It seemed
    easier to be strange but interesting in my handmade items, than sad and
    outdated in my hand-me-downs.

    What was it like when you were growing up? Did your parents play a major
    role in your creative abilities? My mother couldn’t sew a button to save
    her life! When it came to learning my skills, they came from my father, tho
    indirectly. No, he couldn’t sew a handbag, or make an A-line skirt, but he
    instilled something entirely crafty into my thought process. My dad is an
    engineer. And when he wants something, he wants it now. So if he doesn’t
    have the right tools for the job, or the right supplies listed on the
    recipe, rather than do it later, he improvises. And I am just like him! It
    makes us craft our way to the answer.

    When you are creating what is your main focus? Do you need a quiet space or
    do your need an active enviroment to get your creative juices flowing? I
    can work in both. In all honesty, I am almost always creating. Whether it
    is knitting through the movie I have just gone to see, or sewing in a zipper
    in between tasks at work. The surroundings are secondary. My hands just
    have to keep on working on the task my heart has set them to achieve.

    Tell us about yourself and why you want the world to know about your
    crafting treasures. I was always a picky shopper thanks to my lack of
    money. But even when I had the means, I found it hard and tiring to find
    the exact thing I wanted. Sometimes things came close, but I have never
    been one to compromise. So I just ended up making what I had set in my
    head. And when I would leave the house with it, the exact match to my
    hearts desires, I would have people asking me “Oh I love that, where did you
    get it!” I can’t put them thru the hell I went through trying to find it!
    So I offer it to them, made by me.

    Do you want to give special thanks to those who embrased your creative side,
    do it here. {We love real life inspiration} My dad taught me how to fix and
    build cars. And in doing so, he taught me the ethics of D.I.Y. He didn’t
    even know that showing me how to align the front end of our sports car would
    help me create the messenger bag I wore everyday to school. He was the
    first to say I should have my own business, the first to tell me I was a
    great designer. He is as weird and ecentric as me. And without that, I
    would be no where. So I thank him every chance I get! Thanks Dad!!

    We could ask the same questions most ezines ask but we want to know the
    person behind the business. Crafting is not just money making way of life.
    Crafting is a gift from the heart. Creativity is the way to embrace the
    grand vision of~Self~

    Preserving the past..Promoting the future..

    How can you preserve the past with your creative abilities? There are two
    sides to my past-craft-connection. On one hand, the very art of handmade
    seems long lost. By creating my wares stitch by stitch, I preserve that
    skill for the next person to ask me, “can you teach me how.” Or, if they
    are like me, they simply study the thing I have made, and recreate it on
    their own. A whole new generation of self taught seemstresses like myself.
    On the other hand, my crafts preserve MY past. The place I was in when I
    made that. The mood it took to create that piece. Looking through my
    catalog is like reading my diary. So I am preserving crafting past, as well
    as my own.

    In the next 10 years to be, how do you vision your creative lifestyle to be?
    Hopefully by then my life will be rearranged. My craftyt side being the
    bread winner, my day job simply adding to the pot, no longer working just to
    afford the supplies.

    Last but not least, what is one treasure of advise you can pass on to the
    younger generation for creating a life full of passion? You can always rip
    the seems and start again.

  15. Questionaire:

    1. As a child was crafting something you did often?
    Yes. I used to make clothes for my dolls, fancy dress, accessories like bags and jewels, and even toys for myself. My mother taught me how to knit and croched from age 4 and let me access her sewing machine when I was 10. I was hooked!

    2. What types of crafts did you like most?
    Working with wool and fabrics. I used to make dolls and cushions that were sold to raise money for a charity in Africa. We would then send milk and medicine to those in need

    3. What was it like when you were growing up? Did your parents play a major role in your creative abilities?
    It was great. I did not have to worry about sourcing supplies. LOL
    My father had even set a wall for me to express my creativity freely. I was able to paint and draw anything I wanted and they would always drive me to the mall if I needed more knitting wool or needles so I could choose what I wanted.
    When I turned 12, they also enrolled me in the local school of Fine arts, les Beaux-arts for extra tuition and fun.

    4. When you are creating what is your main focus? Do you need a quiet space or do your need an active enviroment to get your creative juices flowing?
    Ican create in any kind on environment, but prefer busy crazy ones, with lots of people, laughter, ideas exchange, noise background or music playing.

    5. Tell us about yourself and why you want the world to know about your crafting treasures.
    many times, while wearing my jewelry or clothes, I get stopped by strangers commenting on “How nice this looks “, “where did you get it”…
    I would be delighted if the people who do not have the opportunity to meet me were also able to find and wear my creations. Having limited editions also makes my work unique and my customers are quite sure not to see the same designs on others. The fact that I follow the latest trends also means that one new collection is being created while one is already out.

    6. Do you want to give special thanks to those who embrased your creative side, do it here.
    Thanks to all of you who believe in me and make this possible.

    We could ask the same questions most ezines ask but we want to know the person behind the business. Crafting is not just money making way of life. Crafting is a gift from the heart. Creativity is the way to embrace the grand vision of~Self~

    ~Preserving the past..Promoting the future~

    7. How can you preserve the past with your creative abilities?
    I am preserving the past by using some of the skills my mother taught me, which she got from her mother, which herself learnt from hers… Being culturally diverse shows in my creations as they will always reflect my French, Spanish, Indian Carribean, Russian heritage.

    8. In the next 10 years to be, how do you vision your creative lifestyle to be?
    I already teach a few classes to young girls interested by developping and unleashing their creativity. I would like to create some tutorials, keep creating new collections, embracing new cultures, new markets and new materials adn techniques.

    9. Last but not least, what is one treasure of advise you can pass on to the younger generation for creating a life full of passion?
    Follow your instincts. Trust yourself. take the plunge.

Leave a Reply

